Autumnal Cooking

Turning of the seasons is always a welcome change, but I do find myself getting rather giddy and extra excited when September comes around, as it brings with it Autumn! The best season of all! Give me bonfires, scarves, woolly jumpers and pumpkin-flavoured everything anytime! Don’t get me wrong I’m sad to see the back of Summer but the cosiness and colour scheme of Autumn makes me feel all fuzzy inside. This feeling is given an extra nudge with the help of these yummy, belly-warming recipes!

IMG_0753
All about the rust, burgundy and mustard tones in Autumn! #cosysocks4lyf

Of course the main theme of Autumn has to be pumpkins or its little sister – the butternut squash! I love the vibrant colours included in these recipes that match the falling leaves outside and they are perfect excuse to snuggle up with under a blanket watching an episode of The Walking Dead!

1). ‘Country Vegetable Pies’

(Disclaimer: I am not a chef or an expert at cooking nor do I claim to be. I have used this recipe from a cookbook which is why I am not stating the exact recipe here, it is just for inspirational purposes only.)

The most rustic and homemade looking pies you could imagine! What I love about these pies is they don’t have to be perfect! Super easy to source the ingredients and throw the whole thing together. The filling contains: broccoli, cauliflower, grated carrot, grated courgette, chopped red onion and pre-boiled butternut squash and new potatoes. Which are then all bound together with an egg, ricotta cheese, cheddar and parmesan cheese.

IMG_0739 IMG_0740

The pastry is then split into 4 blobs and rolled into rough circle (ish!) shapes and into a tin (I used a yorkshire pudding tin but depending how big you want the pies to be any size will do). Also as these pies are ‘freeform’ (is that the right term, Paul Hollywood?!) the traditional walled pie dish isn’t really necessary! The mixture is then generously spooned into each circle and then the pastry is folded up around the filling like a paper bag, ready to be baked until golden brown.

IMG_0741 IMG_0742 IMG_0748

2). Honey-roasted Butternut Squash, Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup

Soup is the ultimate comfort food! Perfect for those grey, rainy days with a big hunk of thickly, buttered crusty bread! I’ve been winging soup recipes for years and found soups made with winter root vegetables are so much richer and tastier when roasted with a generous glug of olive oil and honey for 30-40 minutes before adding to the pot with the fried onions and garlic along with at least a pint/600 ml of hot vegetable stock.

IMG_0743 IMG_0745 IMG_0746 As the vegetables have already been cooked in the oven, the whole pot just needs to simmer with the stock for about 10 minutes until it’s all the same temperature then it can be blended. I usually use a hand blender because it’s less faffing and washing-up and I happen to like a few chunks in my soup but I’d recommend bunging it all in a food processor if you want it a bit smoother! This soup is very thick and rich as it is, but natural yoghurt or cream could be added also.

Hope you enjoyed a slightly different post from my old ones, do let me know if you’d like to see more posts like this or if you’ve tried out the recipes for yourself!

With love, Helen x

Leave a Reply

