Baking Edible Tree Decorations

I loooooove gingerbread! So yummy and festive for the Christmas period they’re the perfect treat to whip up as they smell gorgeous when baking in the oven, are lots of fun to decorate and taste absolutely delicious! I found a really nice recipe here, that uses a good measurement and mixture of different spices which I like, as they have got to be rich and spicy in flavour!

I wanted to make my gingerbread biscuits a lil bit different so decided I’d make some miniature sizes, thread some twine through ’em so I can hang them on the Christmas tree ready to grab for a traditional snack in the Christmassiest atmosphere possible!

So pick up your Christmas cookie cutters and get started!

gingerbread men (2)

gingerbread men (4)

Using a straw, poke a hole all the way through the top of the cut out cookie shape whilst the dough is still raw, ready for the twine to be looped through after they’re baked.

gingerbread men (6)

gingerbread men (3)

These are my bigger gingerbread men for a more traditional look!

gingerbread men (7)

gingerbread men (11)

gingerbread men (8)

gingerbread men (18)

Once the cookies are completely cool, simply tie the string/twine though the hole in the cookie before you ice them (a lot trickier after you’ve iced as I realised half way through icing them – d’oh!).

gingerbread men (16)

gingerbread men (9)

gingerbread men (31)

My finsihed result for the big gingerbread men! They have chcolate drops for eyes and I used the individual sprinkles for their buttons.

gingerbread men (13)

gingerbread men (19)

Using a simple icing sugar and water mixture, I blobbed the middle of the star and bell shapes and covered them in Christmassy sprinkles, ready to be hung on the Christmas tree!

gingerbread men (23)

gingerbread men (24)

gingerbread men (21)

 

Hope you’ve enjoyed this post, I know I’ve enjoyed baking (and eating!) them on this cold, blustery day that’s one day closer to the 25th! Let me know if you’ll be cooking up any edible decorations this year too!

Love, Helen x

Leave a Reply

