What To Wear: Christmas Edition

Does anybody else like to plan their outfits days, even weeks in advance? Or is it just me?! More often it’s for if an event is coming up such as Christmas! So I’ve had my mental wardrobe (wishin’ I had Cher from Clueless’ virtual wardrobe – why doesn’t that exist yet?!) whizzing around my mind thinking what I could wear for the big day and also little party happenings around the Christmas period too. I love seeing outfit ideas on Polyvore and Pinterest, so I’ve put together some lil’ flatlays from items from my own wardrobe!

Christmas Day!

IMG_1273

(Bottom left corner going clockwise: Elf Hat – Poundland, Dress – Ark, Cardigan – Ebay)

I have so many velvet items of clothing it’s actually a bit ridiculous! Especially as I can only really get away with wearing them for 1 month out of the year! But I love it all the same, it doesn’t get anymore festive than a red velvet dress either! This dress was a bargain from the Ark sale as it had been reduced to £6! I really like it as it’s a slightly different cut that the usual skater dress, it has more of a pinafore structure to it, which I think will be perfect with a cosy jumper or long-sleeved turtleneck tucked underneath.

In my home we like to dress up a bit and pretend we’re fancy whilst we sit at home gobbling up the best meal of the year! Here I’ve paired the velvet dress with my favourite cosy, chunky knit cardigan that goes with absolutely everything, and a long gold necklace. Also of course I’ll have to wear my lil elf hat whilst I distribute all my gifts to my loved ones!

IMG_1277IMG_1276

IMG_1275

I love a bit of Christmassy nail art and thought this gold polish will be a perfect extra touch, as well as of course, the perfect red lip ready for all the kisses under the mistletoe! ;)

Cosy Lazy Day

IMG_1279

(From bottom left going clockwise: Slippers – Primark, Jumper – Charity Shop, Mug – Matalan, Velvet leggings – Rokit)

The best thing about Christmas is sitting around drinking warm, mulled things, scoffing chocolate and watching endless films amiright?! Therefore, the ultimate cosy package so you never have to leave the sofa is a big, comfy Christmas jumper, leggings/pj bottoms (there’s no judgment here), fluffy slippers, various snacks (Quality Streets are always a winner with me!) and your fave festive mug to keep topped up with hot chocolate/tea/mulled wine! Ahhh heaven!

IMG_1281IMG_1282

New Year’s Eve Party Time!

IMG_1267

(Bottom left going clockwise: Red Clutch Bag – vintage, Leather Jacket – Forever 21, Playsuit – Ark, Necklace – Ebay, Heels – Topshop)

Oooooh lemme tell you about this starry playsuit making me go starry-eyed! I’ve been after a black with a white star print item for a while now (not sure why tbh haha) and as I was having a casual browse on the Ark website came across this beauty and it happened to be in the sale for £6! Although it’s rather a low neckline which I’m not used to it looks so lovely on with black tights, the material is a crepe-like texture so isn’t too clingy, it has an elasticated waist that cinches you in the right places perfectly and the long sleeves add the perfect Winter sophistication of not getting too chilly!

IMG_1268

I’m not usually one to wear a lot of make-up, in particular on my eyes I tend to brush mascara on and go! But for a bit more of an occasion and some festive glamour, you can’t go wrong with a gold/bronze toned eye with black winged eyeliner which perfectly complements the classic Rimmel Kate Moss lipstick in shade 107, as for Christmastime you gots to have a red lip!

As this playsuit is fairly low cut, a bit of added sparkle dusted along the collarbones is the perfect finishing touch!

IMG_1269IMG_1270

As for accessories, I thought throwing a bit of red in there will really pop against the monochrome theme of the outfit and of course it’s a  Christmassy colour! The shoes! When else can you get away with the most sparkliest, campest,Wizard-of-Oz-esque heels you can imagine?! These were an absolute steal as well, as I scooped them up unworn off Ebay a few years back for less than a tenner!

Hope you enjoyed this post! Also hope I’m not alone in my OCD outfit planning but I am now very excited to get dressed in the getups stress-free! ;)

Love, Helen x

12 thoughts on “What To Wear: Christmas Edition

    1. Haha so glad to hear I’m not alone, thought I was a tad organisational crazy! 🙈 Aw thank you so much yesss can’t get enough of velvet or tacky Christmas hats it’s only once a year after all! 😊 xxx

Leave a Reply

