My Thailand Experience

I am back from my month in Thailand! Be prepared for a picture heavy and lengthy post! I have major post-holiday blues right now but at least I have amazing photos, memories and new friends to take home with me! Thailand is such a stunning and incredible country full of culture and vibrancy, I had such a wonderful, unforgettable trip!

I booked my tour through a company called RealGap as I wanted that extra security of transport, accomodation and activities pre-booked and arranged for when I’m there. Plus as I stuck with the same group who booked the same tour as me, we all became really close friends! There were 18 of us altogether ranging from ages 18-31 plus our Thai guide who came with us everywhere and was incredibly helpful! I know some people prefer to do their own thing and although that may be cheaper, as this was my first time travelling alone and so far away from home, I’m so glad I went with a tour company as I would have no idea where to visit/eat/travel to by myself!

BANGKOK //

We started off in Bangkok where we visited temples, the Grand Palace, shopping in the super cheap clothes stalls, went on a bicycle tour and partied with the ladyboys in backpacker central, Khao San Road! It’s the craziest (and hottest!) place I’ve ever been to and definitely an interesting experience!

Thailand Experience! (Days 1 - 4 BANGKOK) (5)

Thailand Experience! (Days 1 - 4 BANGKOK) (14)

Thailand (Disposable Camera) (2)

SANGKHLABURI //

We then travelled further North of Bangkok to a town on the Burmese border. It isn’t very touristy but was probably my favourite place we visited as the scenery was absolutely stunning! Its main attraction is the Mon Bridge which is the longest wooden bridge in Thailand and looks over beautiful lakes and mountains. We spent 10 days there ziplining in a nature reserve, tubing down a river, trekking through the jungle and camping under the stars, volunteering at a local children’s nursery and helping build a new children’s home and devoured the most delicious and ridiculously cheap food! (£1 for a Massaman curry!).

Thailand (Disposable Camera) (6)

Thailand Experience! (Days 4 - 13 SANGKHLABURI) (13)Thailand Experience! (Days 4 - 13 SANGKHLABURI) (26)Thailand Experience! (Days 4 - 13 SANGKHLABURI) (29)Thailand Experience! (Days 4 - 13 SANGKHLABURI) (20)

Thailand Experience! (Days 4 - 13 SANGKHLABURI) (24)Thailand Experience! (Days 4 - 13 SANGKHLABURI) (57)

KANCHANABURI //

We then travelled to Kanchanaburi, on the way we stopped off at Hell Fire Pass museum where we learnt all about the tragic WWII prisoners of war that built the railway. Our hotel was on the River Kwai so wasn’t far from the sensational Erawan National Park and made it all the way to the 7th tier (so so so worth the long trek!), learnt to cook Thai food and how to meditate from a Buddhist monk, visited an open zoo safari and the Elephant World Sanctuary for orphaned or retired elephants which was easily one of my favourite days, we got to prepare their food, feed and bathe them. If you’re visiting Thailand I recommend the sanctuaries so much more than riding them as you could sincerely tell they were so happy and content and were treated well, elephants are the most beautiful, intelligent and sensitive animals and I fell in love with all of them!

Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (28)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (20)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (22)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (29)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (33)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (71)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (82)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (90)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (120)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (125)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (133)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (137)Thailand Experience! (Days 13 - 19 KANCHANABURI) (141)

KOH PHANGAN //

Our final week was spent in the paradisiac location of the famous islands! Our hotel was the location of the Black Moon Party so although we weren’t there for a Full Moon Party we still partied in the new moon! This week was a lot less jam-packed with activities and had lots of lazy beach/pool days, with a bit of snorkelling on an excursion to neighbouring islands Nang Yuan and Koh Tao! The perfect way to end the holiday relaxing and drinking in the gorgeous, unbelievable views!

Thailand Experience! (Days 19 - 27 KOH PHANGAN) (13)Thailand Experience! (Days 19 - 27 KOH PHANGAN) (43)

Thailand (Disposable Camera) (19)Thailand (Disposable Camera) (21)

Thailand Experience! (Days 19 - 27 KOH PHANGAN) (46)Thailand Experience! (Days 19 - 27 KOH PHANGAN) (32)Thailand Experience! (Days 19 - 27 KOH PHANGAN) (57)

I hope you enjoyed this post and the change of scenery! I know I’ve definitely got the travel bug now and I’ll be saving every penny I get dreaming of my next adventure!

Love, Helen x

Leave a Reply

