Going Cruelty-Free: Make-Up & Skincare Buys

Hello,

Bit of an update around here, as you may know if you’ve read my blog before, I’ve been a vegetarian for over 7 years and have been very cautious with products I use in terms of their ingredients and sought for as natural and preservative/synthetic free possible. However, I’ve never put the two together especially regarding make-up it never occurred to me they may be tested on animals!

So I’ve done my research – this blog post is very useful as was this Youtube video for brands available in the UK, and I’m so disappointed to discover some of my favourite make-up brands test their products on animals (I’m looking at you Rimmel and Bourjois!). But from now on I will only be buying cosmetics that clearly display they have not been tested on animals, although annoyingly this often only applies to the final product and not necessarily ingredients used in the process. Let’s hope more brands will be up front and honest about how their products have come about!

IMG_0840

Now I am just a beginner at this, so please do kindly let me know if I’ve made any mistakes! I picked up a few bits recently from Boots and Superdrug which I’m excited to use with a clear conscience that no animals went through pain to make me look a bit better!

IMG_0841

Brush by Olivia & Ollie (found in T K Maxx)

IMG_0817IMG_0819

MUA Highlighter Powder in Gold

IMG_0823IMG_0825

Collection Deluxe Lipstick in shade ‘Tallulah/2’

Really wanted to pick up some Summery lip colours as I love wearing lipsticks moreso than focusing on my eyes (#lazy), but reds are sometimes a bit too heavy and dramatic for Summer days. This lovely soft pink and this orange shade below are exactly the colours I was looking for and were only £3!

IMG_0828IMG_0830

Collection Lasting Colour Lipstick in shade ‘Mango Crush/3’

IMG_0831

Superdrug Naturally Radiant Range: Renewing Night Cream

I needed a new face moisturiser and as my main skincare routine is at night before I go to bed, I thought this sounded perfect! Also, when I was in Superdrug there was an offer for buy-one-get-one-free on their own range (which they promote as cruelty-free) and I’ve heard good things about their hot cloth cleanser as a dupe for Liz Earle’s cleanse and polish so picked one of them up too!

Hope you enjoyed this post!

Love, Helen x

One thought on “Going Cruelty-Free: Make-Up & Skincare Buys

Leave a Reply

